A History Torn Apart in the Body of a Woman by Adonis

 A Prayer
 
 
 Adonis
 
 
Music: Terez Sliman and Yazan Ibrahim
Director: Amer Hlehel
D.O.P - Montage: Mohammad Khalil
Production Designer: Naif Shaqqur
Media coordinator: Rasha Hilwi
Techniques: Bashar Trabshi

Text: from A History Torn Apart in the Body of a Woman by Adonis
Adaptation: Terez Sliman
Translation to English: Iyad Malouf
 
kan höras på följande länk

 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79DF0Gydxe8&list=RD21jBBJsH5LGTk
 
 
They claim I was born only to be that semen-containing vessel
As if I were but a field or an arable, my body, scum and menses
My life passes by, one time a cry, another a desert,
And why, then, does the universe write its secrets
with the hands of a lover?
And why, then, are prophets born in the bed of a woman?
Why, then, do I not celebrate my breasts and my neck,
Around and in-between?
Why do I not celebrate my lips and my hands?
Why do I not drag the sky on my thighs,
On my bosom, my throat and my waist?
And why do I not reconcile life with that which will come,
and with that which the memory treasures?
My body is that which I see, and that which I do not!
My body is that which I have begun.
My body is all what I remember.
All what I trace, All what I read.
My body is that which I see, and that which I do not.
My body is that which I have begun.
My body is all what I remember.
All what I trace, All what I read.
My body is a moon, a merciful moon, a mothering moon,
A moon between my breasts, in my lips and garments
And in my steps, Under my skin,
A moon of no demon, of no god, a moon of stone!
 
My body is not of me, their teachings say!
 
I pray, I pray to my Body
And my name, sprouts under the skin, inside the lungs
in the pulse of the cell.
In the free breath there is a sea
in which I fluctuate.
A sea in which I was found and lost... in which I sang,
prayed and was led out from one space to another
Why then, do their teachings say: my Body is not of me?
My body is a merciful moon, a mothering moon,
A moon between my breasts, in my lips and garments
And in my steps, Under my skin.
A moon of no demon, of no god, a moon of stone.
 
I pray, I pray to my Body
 

About A Prayer:
A Prayer is a filmed musical piece which combines performed poetry, playing and singing. It takes a clear stand on the issue of woman's body treatment as a "semen-containing vessel" by the world in general, and the Arab world in particular... an act of objectification and deprivation of all sacredness.A Prayer combines the different aspects of distorting the image of woman and her body, from being raped in every way, treated as a commodity or a product, forcefully veiled, or stripped by choice.A Prayer is a stand between the ugliness of truth and a truth ready to be revealed.

Music: Terez Sliman and Yazan Ibrahim
Director: Amer Hlehel
D.O.P - Montage: Mohammad Khalil
Production Designer: Naif Shaqqur
Media coordinator: Rasha Hilwi
Techniques: Bashar Trabshi

Text: from A History Torn Apart in the Body of a Woman by Adonis
Adaptation: Terez Sliman
Translation to English: Iyad Malouf

I owe my foremost and sincerest gratitude to my source of inspiration... to the bosom that embraces the strength of all the women of the world... to my mother -- Hasna Bakri Sliman -- and to all women, the living pulse of this work

Publication date: Women's International Day, 08.03.2013
Trackback
RSS 2.0